Dodge Journey: Owner Complaints and Recalls by Model Year
This is the Dodge Journey complaint and recall record by model year (2009–2020). 5,232 owner reports are on file across 12 years. 2009 has the highest count (1,409) — often because that year has had longer to collect reports, not because this page ranked it. Open a year to see what owners named, the recall list, and the filings themselves.
Dodge Journey filings that NHTSA splits across body-style names are combined here. Related weight classes stay separate.
Across these years, owners named Electrical more often than any other part of the truck. Unclassified leftovers from NHTSA are not a diagnosis.
In plain English
Across 12 years of the Dodge Journey, owners named Electrical more often than any other system. That is a pattern in the file, not a diagnosis of the vehicle in the driveway.
2009 has the most reports (1,409). Older years collect more filings just by being around longer. Open the year you are actually buying — not the peak year unless that is the one in the listing.
Each row is a model year. The system column is what owners named most that year. Click the year for the inspect list, the recall campaigns, and the owner text.
NHTSA Consumer Complaints · Oct 14, 2026 NHTSA Safety Recalls · Oct 15, 2026
Owner reports by model year
| Model year | Owner complaints | Recall campaigns | System named most often | Compare |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2009 Dodge Journey | 1,409 | 8 | Electrical (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) · 601 (42.7%) | not reported |
| 2010 Dodge Journey | 981 | 3 | Electrical (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) · 417 (42.5%) | not reported |
| 2011 Dodge Journey | 167 | 4 | Brakes (SERVICE BRAKES) · 40 (24.0%) | not reported |
| 2012 Dodge Journey | 373 | 6 | Brakes (SERVICE BRAKES) · 61 (16.4%) | not reported |
| 2013 Dodge Journey | 353 | 4 | Engine (ENGINE) · 54 (15.3%) | not reported |
| 2014 Dodge Journey | 411 | 7 | Engine (ENGINE) · 72 (17.5%) | not reported |
| 2015 Dodge Journey | 552 | 6 | Engine (ENGINE) · 82 (14.9%) | not reported |
| 2016 Dodge Journey | 387 | 4 | Engine (ENGINE) · 72 (18.6%) | not reported |
| 2017 Dodge Journey | 199 | 2 | Electrical (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) · 30 (15.1%) | not reported |
| 2018 Dodge Journey | 234 | 6 | Electrical (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) · 29 (12.4%) | not reported |
| 2019 Dodge Journey | 102 | 1 | Rear camera / backup safety (BACK OVER PREVENTION) · 19 (18.6%) | not reported |
| 2020 Dodge Journey | 64 | 1 | Rear camera / backup safety (BACK OVER PREVENTION) · 11 (17.2%) | not reported |
Frequently asked questions
Which Dodge Journey year has the most NHTSA complaints?
2009 has the highest owner-report count in this snapshot (1,409). That is not a recommendation to avoid the year.
What do Dodge Journey owners complain about most?
Across published years, owners named Electrical more often than any other system. Open the year you are buying for the mix, the recall list and the inspect steps.
How should I use this Dodge Journey page before I buy?
Open the model year in the listing — not the peak year unless that is the one you are shopping. Check the VIN at nhtsa.gov, inspect the system owners named most, then read a few owner filings.
Do these counts mean the Dodge Journey is unreliable?
No. Counts are self-selected and not normalised for sales volume. YearTell does not publish reliability scores.
Are Dodge Journey body styles merged?
Where NHTSA splits the same consumer vehicle across cab or body-style names, YearTell combines those filings. Distinct weight classes stay separate.