Ford Edge: Owner Complaints and Recalls by Model Year
This is the Ford Edge complaint and recall record by model year (2007–2022). 13,943 owner reports are on file across 16 years. 2013 has the highest count (2,438) — often because that year has had longer to collect reports, not because this page ranked it. Open a year to see what owners named, the recall list, and the filings themselves.
Ford Edge filings that NHTSA splits across body-style names are combined here. Related weight classes stay separate.
Across these years, owners named Engine more often than any other part of the truck. Unclassified leftovers from NHTSA are not a diagnosis.
In plain English
Across 16 years of the Ford Edge, owners named Engine more often than any other system. That is a pattern in the file, not a diagnosis of the vehicle in the driveway.
2013 has the most reports (2,438). Older years collect more filings just by being around longer. Open the year you are actually buying — not the peak year unless that is the one in the listing.
Each row is a model year. The system column is what owners named most that year. Click the year for the inspect list, the recall campaigns, and the owner text.
NHTSA Consumer Complaints · Oct 14, 2026 NHTSA Safety Recalls · Oct 15, 2026
Owner reports by model year
| Model year | Owner complaints | Recall campaigns | System named most often | Compare |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2007 Ford Edge | 965 | 6 | Airbags (AIR BAGS) · 314 (32.5%) | not reported |
| 2008 Ford Edge | 1,117 | 7 | Airbags (AIR BAGS) · 413 (37.0%) | not reported |
| 2009 Ford Edge | 261 | 7 | Airbags (AIR BAGS) · 124 (47.5%) | not reported |
| 2010 Ford Edge | 670 | 7 | Airbags (AIR BAGS) · 273 (40.8%) | not reported |
| 2011 Ford Edge | 1,800 | 3 | Electrical (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) · 429 (23.8%) | not reported |
| 2012 Ford Edge | 1,131 | 3 | Electrical (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) · 321 (28.4%) | not reported |
| 2013 Ford Edge | 2,438 | 2 | Electrical (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) · 568 (23.3%) | not reported |
| 2014 Ford Edge | 382 | 3 | Brakes (SERVICE BRAKES) · 59 (15.5%) | not reported |
| 2015 Ford Edge | 725 | 7 | Engine (ENGINE) · 152 (21.0%) | not reported |
| 2016 Ford Edge | 918 | 7 | Engine (ENGINE) · 360 (39.2%) | not reported |
| 2017 Ford Edge | 1,367 | 8 | Engine (ENGINE) · 818 (59.8%) | not reported |
| 2018 Ford Edge | 838 | 7 | Engine (ENGINE) · 553 (66.0%) | not reported |
| 2019 Ford Edge | 767 | 3 | Transmission / driveline (POWER TRAIN) · 409 (53.3%) | not reported |
| 2020 Ford Edge | 322 | 4 | Transmission / driveline (POWER TRAIN) · 156 (48.5%) | not reported |
| 2021 Ford Edge | 112 | 7 | Transmission / driveline (POWER TRAIN) · 30 (26.8%) | not reported |
| 2022 Ford Edge | 130 | 5 | Transmission / driveline (POWER TRAIN) · 37 (28.5%) | not reported |
Frequently asked questions
Which Ford Edge year has the most NHTSA complaints?
2013 has the highest owner-report count in this snapshot (2,438). That is not a recommendation to avoid the year.
What do Ford Edge owners complain about most?
Across published years, owners named Engine more often than any other system. Open the year you are buying for the mix, the recall list and the inspect steps.
How should I use this Ford Edge page before I buy?
Open the model year in the listing — not the peak year unless that is the one you are shopping. Check the VIN at nhtsa.gov, inspect the system owners named most, then read a few owner filings.
Do these counts mean the Ford Edge is unreliable?
No. Counts are self-selected and not normalised for sales volume. YearTell does not publish reliability scores.
Are Ford Edge body styles merged?
Where NHTSA splits the same consumer vehicle across cab or body-style names, YearTell combines those filings. Distinct weight classes stay separate.