Tesla Model Y: Owner Complaints and Recalls by Model Year
This is the Tesla Model Y complaint and recall record by model year (2020–2026). 4,207 owner reports are on file across 7 years. 2023 has the highest count (1,162) — often because that year has had longer to collect reports, not because this page ranked it. Open a year to see what owners named, the recall list, and the filings themselves.
Tesla Model Y filings that NHTSA splits across body-style names are combined here. Related weight classes stay separate.
Across these years, owners named Automatic braking / collision warning more often than any other part of the truck. Unclassified leftovers from NHTSA are not a diagnosis.
In plain English
Across 7 years of the Tesla Model Y, owners named Automatic braking / collision warning more often than any other system. That is a pattern in the file, not a diagnosis of the vehicle in the driveway.
2023 has the most reports (1,162). Older years collect more filings just by being around longer. Open the year you are actually buying — not the peak year unless that is the one in the listing.
Each row is a model year. The system column is what owners named most that year. Click the year for the inspect list, the recall campaigns, and the owner text.
NHTSA Consumer Complaints · Oct 14, 2026 NHTSA Safety Recalls · Oct 15, 2026
Owner reports by model year
| Model year | Owner complaints | Recall campaigns | System named most often | Compare |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2020 Tesla Model Y | 279 | 24 | Automatic braking / collision warning (FORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCE) · 89 (31.9%) | not reported |
| 2021 Tesla Model Y | 1,080 | 23 | Automatic braking / collision warning (FORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCE) · 517 (47.9%) | not reported |
| 2022 Tesla Model Y | 862 | 20 | Automatic braking / collision warning (FORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCE) · 424 (49.2%) | not reported |
| 2023 Tesla Model Y | 1,162 | 17 | Automatic braking / collision warning (FORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCE) · 413 (35.5%) | not reported |
| 2024 Tesla Model Y | 326 | 5 | Automatic braking / collision warning (FORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCE) · 83 (25.5%) | not reported |
| 2025 Tesla Model Y | 104 | 3 | Automatic braking / collision warning (FORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCE) · 30 (28.9%) | not reported |
| 2026 Tesla Model Y | 394 | 8 | Automatic braking / collision warning (FORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCE) · 86 (21.8%) | not reported |
Frequently asked questions
Which Tesla Model Y year has the most NHTSA complaints?
2023 has the highest owner-report count in this snapshot (1,162). That is not a recommendation to avoid the year.
What do Tesla Model Y owners complain about most?
Across published years, owners named Automatic braking / collision warning more often than any other system. Open the year you are buying for the mix, the recall list and the inspect steps.
How should I use this Tesla Model Y page before I buy?
Open the model year in the listing — not the peak year unless that is the one you are shopping. Check the VIN at nhtsa.gov, inspect the system owners named most, then read a few owner filings.
Do these counts mean the Tesla Model Y is unreliable?
No. Counts are self-selected and not normalised for sales volume. YearTell does not publish reliability scores.
Are Tesla Model Y body styles merged?
Where NHTSA splits the same consumer vehicle across cab or body-style names, YearTell combines those filings. Distinct weight classes stay separate.